The State Library's collection serves Kentucky's need to know by assuring equitable access to high quality library information resources and services.
Who can check out items in the State Library's collection?
- Kentucky residents age 18 and over with a photo ID
- State government agency employees on site or using messenger mail service
- Libraries via interlibrary loan
- Non-resident college and university students (limited to use during the regular class session calendar)
- Professional librarians / archivists through libraries or institutions of employment
How do I obtain a library card?
To obtain a library card, members of the general public must apply on site at the State Library. Kentucky state government employees may apply online. For additional information, please contact the State Library at 502.564.8309 or 800.928.7000 ext. 342.
The third statement in the Code of Ethics adopted by the American Library Association states, "We protect each user's right to privacy and confidentiality with respect to information sought or received, and resources consulted, borrowed, or acquired or transmitted.
Kentucky Revised Statute 61.878 (1) (a) states:
(1) The following public records are excluded from the application of KRS 61.870 to 61.884 and shall be subject to inspection only upon order of a court of competent jurisdiction. . .
(a) Public records containing information of a personal nature where the public disclosure thereof would constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy."
How may I return materials I've checked out?
Customers may return items to the State Library during normal operating hours: Monday - Friday, 10:00 - 4:00 ET. Book drops are located outside the building for return of materials during evenings, on weekends or state holidays. Please do not place audiobooks, videos or DVDs in the book drops; these items need to be returned inside the library. State agency employees may return items using messenger mail.
What is your overdue policy?
Library users are notified of overdue material by email or U. S. mail. After the item is 28 days overdue, a Fine & Fee notice is sent for the replacement costs and a $10.00 processing fee per item. Fines are not charged for overdue days and all charges are removed if the materials are returned in good condition. Non-return or nonpayment for unreturned or damaged materials will result in suspension of borrowing privileges.
Kentucky public libraries are notified of overdue materals by email or U. S. mail. After an item is 28 days overdue, a Fine & Fee notice is sent for replacement costs and a $10.00 processing fee per item. Fines are not charged for overdue days and all charges are removed if materials are returned in good condition. Non-return or nonpayment may result in suspension of borrowing privileges.
Libraries borrowing through interlibrary loan receive a first overdue notice via the OCLC system. Subsequent notices are generated by KDLA's Interlibrary Loan specialist and sent by email or U. S. mail. The final notice will be a Fine & Fee notice for replacment costs plus a $10.00 processing fee per item.